Skip to main content

Horizon Energy Group has appointed two new independent directors to the Board. Anne Tolley and Jonathan Kay will join, effective June 1st, 2023.

Horizon Energy Group Chairman, Tony De Farias says the two new appointees are part of the Board’s rotation and refreshment programme.

“Following an extensive search process, I am pleased to welcome Mrs. Tolley to the Board as a resident of the Eastern Bay of Plenty, a community she served for fifteen years as the East Coast Member of Parliament. Mrs. Tolley will bring an invaluable perspective to the Board drawing upon her vast experience in central and local government,” said Mr. De Farias.

Anne Tolley has had wide governance experience in both local and central government, over the last 30 years.

Since February 2021 Mrs. Tolley has Chaired the Commission appointed to replace the Tauranga City Council. With a focus on managing the growth of New Zealand’s fastest growing, fifth largest city and ensuring that citywide amenities contribute to the quality of life for residents, Anne has led the redevelopment of the ailing CBD, overseen re-energising the Council organisation to deliver an ambitious capital investment plan, and reconnect with its community in a more positive and empowering manner.

Jonathan Kay will replace Board member and Chair of the Asset Management and New Technology Committee, Christopher Boyle, who is retiring from the Board in August 2023. Mr. Boyle has been one of Horizon Energy Group’s longest serving Board Members, having been appointed in 2008.

“Horizon Energy Group Chairman, Tony De Farias thanks Mr. Boyle for his invaluable contribution to the Board that has contributed to the growth and development of the Company during his over fifteen years on the Board.”

“Following a comprehensive search process, I am pleased to welcome Mr. Kay to the Board who brings with him extensive experience in the New Zealand energy sector. Mr. Kay has been appointed as the Chair of the Horizon Energy Group Asset Management and New Technology Committee,” said Mr. De Farias.

Jonathan started his career as a process engineer working in some of New Zealand's biggest process plants and hungriest energy users. His involvement in the New Zealand energy sector spans over thirty years and has included senior roles with Vector, Landis+Gyr, and Unison Networks.

Jonathan is currently Chair of Waipa Networks Limited, and a Director of Network Waitaki Limited, Whitestone Contracting Limited, and Counties Energy Limited.

Horizon Energy Group is 100% owned by Trust Horizon. Horizon Energy Group has grown to include a diverse range of skills and services that include electricity distribution and infrastructure, industrial and commercial refrigeration, building services, facility services and industrial and commercial electrical solutions. Horizon Energy Group operates nationally under the following trading brands: Horizon NetworksTM, Aquaheat ®, CoolLogic®, Caldwell and Levesque, ElectriServ® and ElectriNET.


Visit for more information.